Live Cricket Online
   Home      Election Winners with Political Relationship
Dayasiri creates history
Former UNP parliamentarian and one of the UPFA Chief Ministerial hopefuls for the North-Western Provincial Council, Dayasiri Jayasekera has created history by securing the highest number of preferential votes, ever obtained by a candidate at a PC election, at Saturday’s poll.

Jayasekera obtained 336,327 preferential votes from the Kurunegala District and it amounted to 62.22 per cent of the 540,513 votes polled by the UPFA in that District.

Till then, the record of highest number of preferential votes obtained by candidate at a PC election was held by former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga, who polled 298,457 preferential votes from the Gampaha District at the Western Provincial Council election in 1993. However, Jayasekera couldn’t beat CBK’s 84.4%.

Uva Chief Minister Shasheendra Rajapaksa was also on record with 85.52% at the 2009 PC election with 136,697 preferential votes from the Moneragala District.

Tamil National Alliance (TNA) Chief Ministerial candidate for the Northern Province C. A. Vigneswaran secured 61.83 per cent by polling 132,255 preferential votes (61.83%) from the Jaffna District.

However, A. Pasupathy, who contested the NPC on the TNA ticket, from the Kilinochchi District, obtained 27,267 (73.54%) preferential votes.

Prime Minister D. M. Jayaratne’s son Anuradha Lanka, topped the Kandy District UPFA preferential votes list with 107,644 (30.25%), but Minister Janaka Bandara Tennakoon’s son Pramitha Bandara, who contested the same council, from the Matale District, was able to secure 51,591 votes (38.8%) out of the 135,128 votes polled by the UPFA from the entire district.

Abhaya Sanath Nishantha Perera, who contested on the UPFA ticket for the North-Western Province, from the Puttalam District, secured 62,996 preferential votes (38.25%). Perera is also a chief ministerial hopeful; no politician from the Puttalam District has held the post so far.

UPFA’s Ramasami Muttiah (50,600–22.46%) from the Nuwara Eliya District, TNA’s Shivaid Anthony (12,928 – 39.04%) from the Mannar District, TNA’s Anthony Jeganathen (9309 – 32.93%) from the Mullaitivu District and TNA’s Padmanathen Satyalingam (19,656 – 47.68%) have secured the highest number of preferential votes from their respective districts.

Former Colombo deputy mayor Asath Sally, who lost at the Western and Eastern Provincial Council elections in 2009 and 2012, became the highest preferential vote taker from the Kandy District on the UNP ticket. He has obtained 55,385 prefvotes.

Then police spokesman, retired SSP Ranjith Gunasekera, led the preferential votes list of the Democratic Party from the Kurunegala District with the 7,799 votes.

UPFA General Secretary, Environment and Renewable Energy Minister Susil Premajayantha said that out of seven members, elected to the NPC from the ruling coalition, two were Sinhala and one was Muslim.

He said it was also a victory that three seats of the 38 member council could be held by Sinhalese and Muslims as they were minorities in the Northern Province.

Two UPFA candidates elected to the NPC from the Vavuniya were A. D. Dharmapala Senaratne and Arachchige Jayathilake. The only UPFA candidate elected for the NPC from the Mannar District is Abbas Abdul Rizvan.